Hang your ink.Connect with nature. #Anatomy inspired #tattooed leather

CONNECT WITH NATURE

Heres a look at how I created my large tattooed & tooled anatomy inspired piece…..

P1080175

Created on pale veg tan leather ,  and left as nude as possible –  which is very difficult when all your tattoo machine wants to do is spray black ink everywhere….. !! I managed to save it from a few disasters!

Inspired by plant and animal/ human anatomy & old scientific illustrations

P1080197

You can see a cross section of the brain, mixed with plant anatomy, the silhouette of a body with an intentionally rough outline of the skeleton & stylised  anatomical heart

P1080211

It also features a couple of my favourite flower (Anemone & Nigella)

The line work is pretty detailed on this one, and its taken the longest (so far) to ink, it took 3 hours to just get the design onto the leather! Overall its A3 in size so still quite small & detailed

The leather was really great to tool. I didn’t want to have sections really raised but i did want to get lots of definition on the main body outline

P1080454

I added in a border featuring more plant and anatomical illustrations,  which i oiled to a darker shade of tan, I may remove it, as i quite like it being pale only … but I haven’t quite decided yet! At the moment, its in one of our reclaimed handmade frames

Here it is…

P1080475

Here are some shots of the piece as it develops….

12

3

4

See more of my work at www.puncturedartefact.com