SYMBOLISM: The circle

Why I love the circle

ImageOne of the hardest things ( I find ) to ink onto my leather is a circle. As I don’t do it with a transfer onto the skin, like a tattoo artist. I transfer the design onto wet leather, which leaves a small & hardly visible imprint in the surface.

ImageImage

I really admire the simplicity and beauty of the circle, as a tattoo on the skin. And wonder what it symbolizes for the person … I love the stories behind the tattoos and what they symbolize to each person

ImageImage

Circles commonly represent unity, wholeness, and infinity. Without beginning or end, without sides or corners

Image

What is contained in the circle and what lies without.  Does seeing that circle make you want to step out of it, or into it?

Circles are often seen as protective symbols. Standing within a circle shields a person from supernatural dangers or influences outside of the circle. Conversely, a circle can also be containing, keeping that which is inside from been released

Wholeness                                                  Image

Focus / Unity/ Nurturing/ Inclusion/ exclusion/ Cycle of life

Protection/ Everything/ Perfection/ Womb

Centering/ Revolution/ Infinity/ Motion/ Completion

Life/ Safety/ Yin & Yang

Past present future

Sun /Earth/ Wedding ring/ Eternal love/ Enclosure of the heart

Creation/ Number one

Image

I Have been looking for a good blog or site, which shares the stories behind the tattoo –  if anyone knows one let me know or share a story

Image

http://circlecircle.tumblr.com/post/7134765822/check-out-dvdp-for-more-amazing-animated-gifs-like